What does N8 stand for?

N8 refers to the eight most research intensive universities in the North of England: Durham, Lancaster, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle, Sheffield and York. Read more about the N8 Research Partnership.

Where is N8 AgriFood based?

N8 AgriFood is a joint multidisciplinary research programme across the N8 universities with academics, partners and events in every institute. The secretariat, however, is based at the University of York with the operations staff working from offices in the Department of Biology.

Do I have to be a member of staff at an N8 institution to work with N8 AgriFood?

No. The programme is designed to foster cooperation between the N8 universities, but N8 AgriFood cannot succeed if it doesn’t also work with other universities and research institutes, as well as with businesses, charities, civil organisations and the public. We are keen to work with other academic institutions in the UK, across Europe and globally, wherever collaboration will improve the impact and reach of our research.